So I’m working on a couple different things this month. The top projects are all AI-related- trying to build a dashboard for our live events at work, and playing with ‘Gaussian Splats’ because they’re cool and that’s a fun word to say.
Basically, I got hooked on the AI stuff a few weeks ago. I realized I could actually use ChatGPT to code now, and then discovered I could actually install it directly into an ubuntu install, and have it go hog-wild making little programs for me. We also happened to be getting rid of a TON of server hardware at work, and I wasn’t convined it was all trash… I figured maybe, I could re-purpose some or all of this stuff- it’s got DDR3 RAM in some cases, but it’s gotta be somewhat capable!
A week of furious ‘vibe-coding’ ensued, and the result was a basic dashboard for all our meeting coverage, which can run on a potato. The ‘meeting pipeline’ as I started calling it, is designed to check Google Calendar, YouTube, our Cable Server, and the Town’s website to build a database of meetings coming up, and alert me anytime there’s a missing livestream, cable output, etc., all based on predictive modeling and historical meeting data.
In theory, it works great. In practice, vibe-coding leaves a lot to be desired, and so does my ability to stay focused. I’m distracted with other work this week (editing last week’s school board meeting, preparing a graphics package for this week’s town debate, etc.) and therefore not fixing the glaring bug with the app right now- my OAuth tokens have apparently expired, and I haven’t built in any kind of fix/handling for that error.
Again, this is where I don’t know what the fuck I’m doing. I love what these tools are enabling though, so I’ll power through. I somehow managed to sort out the Google Cloud setup, and got my ‘organization’ all ready and working without issue. Haven’t seen a massive bill for all the API calls yet either, although perhaps that’s coming…
On a more personal note, the ‘bike repair’ project continues- in quotes because again, I don’t know what the fuck I’m doing… Seeing a theme here? The engine turns over fine, so it’s not siezed, and that’s great. I couldn’t get a spark out of either plug last week, so I went ahead and got new plugs and new boots this weekend, and i’ll try to install them soon- hopefully i’ll get it running by the time they sweep the streets!